Don’t Blink

So… I’m back. Again. I do this a bit  – disappear for a month or two, then pop back in out of nowhere… I’m a little bit like that old best friend/boy friend  that somehow STILL has your number and occasionally gets the urge to drunk dial you at 2 am for no reason whatsoever. Except I’m not drunk, it’s closer to 1 am, and I’m typing, not dialing, so at least, if you’re sleeping, it’ll be morning before you are subjected to my rambling.   I realize disappearing down the rabbit hole of Motherhood then reappearing on a random Wednesday makes me seem like I lack blogging commitment, or am slightly (possibly more than slightly) nutters.  I figure I don’t really owe the netverse an explanation as to where I’ve been, but I’ve been told I have a bit of a oversharing issue, so  here’s the deal. I am a Mama, a Wife, a Woman and an Artist. In that order. Which means… I’m busy. And I get tired, and worn out, and as much as I’d like to post daily, and as many awesome ideas for posts as may be rattling around in my brain, I have a lot going on. So it’s going to be hit or miss with me, at least for now.  However, I do have something on my mind that I’d like to discuss this very early morning.

Taking people for granted. We all do it, whether it’s that friend we don’t appreciate or call as much as we should, that relative we don’t spend NEAR enough time with until suddenly we realise we’re running out of time, or that child who we’ve been so busy “keeping out of trouble” that we almost totally missed that gorgeous smile, funny little moment, or amazing, heartbreaking “milestone”.  We miss out on these people and moments because we’re too busy. Busy hanging out with the unsupportive but “cool”  “friend”, busy “relaxing” in front of the TV, busy cleaning or cooking or running errands.  Know what I’m going to do? Declutter. Clean out the people, things and priorities in my life that are getting in the way of and taking my focus off of what really matters. My son. My true friends. My family. I love you all, and yes, I’m going to bed now.

Leave a Reply

