The Cloth in Peace, Love, Cloth – Part 2

Well, folks, I’ve FINALLY buckled down and finished up my second installation of cloth diaper reviews. I know – you didn’t think it was EVER coming, did you? Please be kind to me – I’m trying to put this together in between attempting to keep up with an extremely active toddler, mad dashes to my part-time job at our local art gallery, and endless rounds of laundry, dishes, and more laundry… This will not be perfect. Hopefully it will be coherent. In case you missed  my first attempt at cloth diaper reviewing, check it out here. Also, if any of you agree, or disagree, or have tried any other diaper styles or brands, feel free to let me know, and I’ll GLADLY add your take to this series. Every baby is different, every Mama is different, so what worked for me might not work for someone else, and the more information we can compile, hopefully the more Mamas we can help successfully cloth diaper!

Fuzzibunz Perfect Size – These are exactly what their name implies – sized Fuzzibunz. The sizes run from Preemie all the way up to Toddler. They are the same great quality as their one size diaper brethren, but personally, I prefer the one size Fuzzibunz. Mostly because I don’t fancy buying 12 or more cloth diapers every few months. Which I would have had to do for Leo, seeing as how he put on a pound a week for a good long while. He was in the size small for exactly two weeks. I cried.  I also missed the third waist snap that the one size have but the Perfect Size don’t. Bottom line? Good diaper, not as good, in my opinion, as Fuzzibunz  one size diapers.

Kissaluvs fleece/cotton fitted – these fitteds were so soft and fluffy, not to mention easy to use, that I really loved putting them on Leo’s bottom. Until I noticed that every time I changed him, the entire fitted was  soaked and literally dripping – even if he’d only been in it for a short time. Talk about disappointing! These would be wonderful for a newborn or a light wetter. I’m keeping the six I have for our next baby, but I don’t like Leo having to sit in so much moisture, so I don’t use them on him any more. I’m planning on trying Kissaluvs hemp fitteds at some point, to see if they are more absorbent. I love this company. I think the quality of their products  is excellent. Just don’t use this particular fitted for an extended period of time or for a heavy wetter and you’ll be fine.

Kissaluvs Wool LOVER diaper cover – I shrunk my first one, and I ordered a new one that day. Considering the price, nuff said. I really love this cover. I’m not a big wool user or fan, but this cover is super soft and extremely water resistant . It’s my second favorite wool cover, and one of two I intend to keep for future use. If you’re interested in trying wool, this is a great place to start.

BabyBeehinds wool cover – Fabulous. My all time favorite wool cover. All time favorite cover, period. The aplix is amazing – won’t stick to anything but itself, and the wool is the easiest to care for of any wool I’ve tried. GREAT product – and the colors are gorgeous!

BabyBeehinds PUL wrap cover – Nope. BabyBeehinds wool covers rock, but sadly, their PUL cover I tried faded and bled, the aplix wasn’t sticky, and it looked really rough after only one wash. Very disappointing.

Sustainablebabyish knit wool cover – Gorgeous soft wool knit. The sizing is very generous, which I appreciate. All around great quality cover, just a bit pricier than I usually go for.

Swaddlebees merino wool diaper cover – I didn’t get into this one at all, not even at first. The wool is super scratchy, the fact that it’s an aplix wool cover instead of “pull up” is nice, but that doesn’t make up for the itchy factor – or the fact that not only is it sized quite small, but it wasn’t very water proof either – even after an all night lanolin soak. Not impressive.

Blueberry Minky one size diaper – I love the fluffy minky fabric, and I LOVE the camo print – and that’s all I love. The “one size”  adjusting snaps up the front aren’t my thing, neither was the fact that they are his bulkiest diapers and STILL the most likely to leak, as well as leave angry red marks on his legs, no matter how loose I left them. The aplix was so terrible they lost their “stick” almost immediately, and then got so bad I had to wash them in lingerie bags just to protect my other diapers from getting snagged and messed up. The “washing tabs” were a joke. The hemp/fleece combo inserts were pretty neat, and that and the print designs are my only positives.

Imse Vimse flushable liner – These had a distinct chemical smell and broke my little Leo’s newborn butt all out. They were also quite stiff and scratchy. Pass.

Bummis Biosoft flushable liner– Very soft, and I like that you can buy them in the appropriate size for the little bum you’re diapering. I don’t use liners very often now that I’ve installed my handy dandy diaper sprayer, but if I ever have to live without my sprayer, I fall back on these to take care of any “solid” issues.

GroVia Magic Stick diaper ointment – In the realm of  cloth diaper friendly diaper rash creams, this is a winner. The smell is yummy, and I can’t stress how much I love the fact that it comes in a handy applicator – it looks and works like an oversized chapstick.

GroVia Hybrid diaper system – The only hybrid system worth giving a shot, in my opinion. I didn’t like the snap in cloth inserts – they’re much too rough and stiff to possibly be comfortable on  a baby bottom, in my opinion. However, I loved the disposable, biodegradable inserts, and the actual covers are fabulous. I use other cloth inserts – or even a prefold with them, and they ROCK. The aplix is super sticky, but the unique design won’t snag other diapers in the wash, and despite being one of those “one size” diapers that adjust by snapping down the front – the snaps are a unique design and don’t pull out, even when my little man goes full blast.

Thirsties Duo Wrap – I tried this one because the “duo” two size system appealed to me, but I hated the fit, it left really harsh lines on poor Leo’s chubby little legs – maybe on a different shaped (ie: less chunky) baby they’d be just right. I also wasn’t a fan of the way the covers adjusted by snapping down the front, for reasons we’ve already discussed.

Bummis organic prefolds – Lovely, fluffy, unbleached organic cotton prefolds. If you’re looking for an inexpensive, all natural, easy to wash cloth diaper solution – I HIGHLY recommend these. Don’t be afraid of the prefold, Mamas – I promise they are not as “complicated” as they appear.

BabyKicks hemp prefolds – These make WONDERFUL overnight inserts for pocket diapers, but I don’t recommend using them as actual prefolds. They are quite rough, too thick, and there is nowhere NEAR enough stretch. Thirsties Duo Hemp Prefolds beat these hollow in the “hemp prefold” category… We’ll get to those in a bit ;D

Grandma El’s Diaper Rash Cream – I have used this since Leo’s first month, and am extremely pleased… I keep some on hand at all time. The ONLY rash it can’t handle is a yeast diaper rash. I even use it when I notice extra dry skin elsewhere, and for over a year, this lovely smelling stuff has been my go-to diaper cream. I HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommend this to all Mama’s – cloth or disposable diapering.

Organic Caboose Eco Fleece Cover – LOVE. My top fleece cover, and I love me quite a few fleece covers (it’s the “lazy” Mama’s alternative to wool, in my huble opinion…) I use this cover and a hemp fitted or prefold at night, and we stay dry ALL night – no more wet sheets, thank heavens 😀

Babee Greens Growing Greens hemp/cotton fitteds – These are the only fitteds I really like. I love that they “grow” with baby – the snap in toddler “soaker” doubles as a newborn contour! And I’m highly, highly impressed with the quality of the materials and work. I’m also a HUGE advocate for hemp cloth use in cloth diapering, as it is the ONLY fabric capable of containing my “Super Pee Machine’s” leaks. This fitted IS a little bit confusing at first, but with a little practice, it’s very manageable and surprisingly easy to get on a squirming toddler.

Bummis Tot Bots Easy Fit one size diaper – So far this is the only “one-size, all in one”  diaper that I’ve found to be worth the extra bucks. I have six, and while these DO adjust by snapping  down in front, I’m still  a huge fan. They are the perfect solution for cloth diaper challenged Daddies, baby sitters and grandparents, since Tot Bots are pretty much a disposable in cloth form. The velcro/aplix is super easy  to handle and yet doesn’t snag in the wash, and since the inserts are connected TO the diaper, there’s no confusion for “Nana” when she’s trying to help me out by washing or folding a load of diapers. Our Tot-Bots stay in a convenient, easy to reach basket known as the “Daddy diaper stash” and as long as I keep them stocked and ready to go  – there is no problem getting FireDaddy to change a cloth diaper. Oh – and they come in some super, super cute prints. Especially for girls… I need a little girl to diaper, STAT!

Bummis Super Whisper Wrap  – Another huge favorite, and my top PUL cover. I. Have. NEVER. had a leak with these. EVER. They even got us through a round of extremely runny diarrhea, with no leaks. And the prints are DARLING, and there are actually a good selection of “boy” prints to choose from!

Bummis Super Brite covers – Another fabulous product from Bummis. They only difference between these and the whisper wrap is  a slight difference in fabric texture (I find the Brights to be ever so slightly softer and stretchier) and the addition of runny – poop – containing leg gussets. A Mama friend of mine SWEARS by these, and other than a tendency for these to be a tad binding on Leo’s legs, I agree 100%.

Thirsties Duo hemp prefolds – BEST. PREFOLD. EVER. Looks and feels like a soft, comfy, stretchy t-shirt, absorbs like the thirstiest hemp cloth in the universe. Hands down my top prefold pick, and almost my ultimate top cloth diaper pick. You can’t go wrong with these.

Charlies Soap Powder – When I started this series, many, many moons ago, I was a born-again Rockin’ Green fan. Then I started noticing issues with smell, buildup, and rashes on Leo. So after extensive research, and endless stripping, and multiple wash routines, I decided to switch detergents. Charlies was my next detergent obsession… and while I DO think this is a good, HE friendly, all natural detergent, after a while, this too fell short, with more rashes, more smell, and basically the same issues I had with Rockin’ Green. Enter Mountain Green baby free and clear detergent. It works, it’s cheap (I buy it in bulk at Ingles when I go visit my parents) and I have yet to see irritation or smell anything but clean diapers when I pull them out of the wash.

Charlies Soap laundry pre-spray – Decent all natural laundry pre-treatment, but not really powerful enough for Leo’s dirt and grime encrusted clothing  – I had to break down and use Baby Oxi-Clean. I haven’t used either on my diapers, mostly because stains on Leo’s diapers aren’t a big issue for me, and sunlight works better anyways.

BabyKicks premium hemp inserts – I have completely replaced ALL of my fleece/cotton inserts with these amazing, super slim, super absorbent inserts. I especially love using them in my AppleCheeks and Fuzzibunz, and since switching, I’ve noticed a dramatic reduction in leaking.

AppleCheeks two-size envelope diaper – My favorite pocket diaper, bar none. I LOVE AppleCheeks. They are great for so many reasons. I love that they are a “two size” system – Size 1 fits 7 – 18 lbs, and size 2 fits 18 – 35 lbs. Leo has worn size 2’s since he was about 5 months old, and they still fit beautifully. I love that thanks to their “envelope” design, if you don’t unstuff the inserts, they come out on their own in the wash. I love the look of the diaper, the fabulous, fun colors and prints, and the fact that they are a Canadian Mama run business… I could go on, but I think my point has been made. I LOVE THESE DIAPERS!!!

AppleCheeks Bamboo Inserts – Sadly, I don’t love these. They are okay – I use them overnight as an extra doubler or insert, but by themselves, they just don’t have the absorbency that Leo needs. Super Pee Machine strikes again 😀

Fuzzibunz hanging diaper pail – I’ve tried many different diaper pail “methods”, and honestly, the hanging diaper pail is the most convenient – and the simplest. It’s space friendly, it’s not sealed, so enough air gets in that the stink doesn’t get putrid and then hit you in the face when you empty it or put another diaper in, and it’s quick and super easy to clean – just toss it in the wash with the diapers! An added bonus – the Fuzzibunz version has a zippered bottom, so if you spray off poop and unstuff your pocket diapers before you put them in the hanging pail, all you have to do is unzip the bottom and shake the diapers into the wash – no need to touch!

Fuzzibunz zippered diaper tote –  Commonly known as a “wet bag”, this, or a version thereof, is a must have. Mine has come in handy more times than I can count – it’s great when we’re traveling or just out and about – not only for dirty cloth diapers, but for wet clothes and even icky disposables you don’t want to leave in someone’s garbage pail.

So there you have it folks. A complete run down of all the cloth diapers and cloth diapering “stuff” I’ve tried… so far. Maybe another post will come  – maybe I’ve found my Cloth Diaper nirvana. You just never know with me! 😀

2 thoughts on “The Cloth in Peace, Love, Cloth – Part 2

  1. I love our Kissaluvs wool cover too! I love the super softness and you can still fit it under (most) pajamas. I’ve never had a leak with them.

    My favorite wetbags are the Bummis Fabulous wet bag and the Itzy Ritzy wet bag, sadly it only comes in a medium size. I’ve shoved soaking, dripping wet diapers in there and have never had it leak before.

    Great list and lots of diapers and products.

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed the results of my cloth diaper addiction – and I’m totally going to have to check out the wetbags you mentioned!

Leave a Reply

